top of page

Venison Blue Cheese Pizza

I'm going to be honest, I didn't come up with this recipe...my husband did! This is a copycat of a steak and blue cheese pizza he tried a few years ago and recreated at home. I'll admit I was skeptical at first...my favorite kind of pizza is plain cheese pizza. 

But, it's something that's made pretty frequently in our household and one of my favorites.

It's pretty simple to make as well! Originally we made it topped with beef skirt steak, but I decided to switch it up and use venison.

You can use pre-made pizza crust here like I did (because I was lazy) or you can make your own! 

Ingredients: 

1 pizza crust

1/2 lb of venison steak

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 red pepper

Olive oil

Dried rosemary (chopped)

Blue Cheese

Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 450.

Season the venison steaks and season with salt and pepper. In a frying pan, heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium high heat. Add venison brown on both sides until you have a good sear. Dont worry if it's not completely cooked through. Remove from heat, slice into thin strips, and set aside.

Slice the pepper in half. Cut one half into bite sized pieces and set aside. (I usually make two pizzas at once so I can use the whole pepper!)

Lay out your pizza crust. Brush with olive oil, making sure you cover the whole surface. Sprinkle liberally with rosemary.

Top with shredded mozzarella.

Arrange the steak and pepper on top of the cheese.

Sprinkle with blue cheese.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until cheese is melted and crust is golden brown on the edges. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page